Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Some questions about operation market garden
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
boersma8
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 182
Registered:
February 2005
Some questions about operation market garden Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45
OK, I've got this scenario set up all ready to play, but I still have some questions:

1.) In the special rules it says that tank units normally move two in this scenario, but it doesn't say anything about SPECIAL infantry units, so I take it they can move 2 on a road and fire or move 3 and not battle?

2.) Can the Commander in Chief give all three cards for a turn to one and the same field general? If so, could all three these cards be section cards?

3.) Do you have to make separate piles of command and section cards?

4.) I assume the British infantry units in the South with all the tanks are NOT special infantry (paratroopers) and therefore fight like regular infantry? Might be hard to distinguish them from the paras should they ever link up....
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Some questions about operation market garden Sun, 14 June 2009 17:20
player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45

OK, I've got this scenario set up all ready to play, but I still have some questions:

1.) In the special rules it says that tank units normally move two in this scenario, but it doesn't say anything about SPECIAL infantry units, so I take it they can move 2 on a road and fire or move 3 and not battle?....


Elite infantry on a road can move 3 and battle, if they start on road, stay on road and end on road.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


2.) Can the Commander in Chief give all three cards for a turn to one and the same field general? If so, could all three these cards be section cards?....

No, a field general can only recieve 2 cards per turn.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


3.) Do you have to make separate piles of command and section cards?....


No, they are all shuffled together.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


4.) I assume the British infantry units in the South with all the tanks are NOT special infantry (paratroopers) and therefore fight like regular infantry? Might be hard to distinguish them from the paras should they ever link up....


THese units are normal infantry yes. And if you ever link them up, be sure to mark them in some way to tell them apart from the elite british units. I don't think it will happen often.

Have a good time. The scenario is very good.
      
boersma8
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 182
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Some questions about operation market garden Sun, 14 June 2009 18:15
ad79 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 17:20

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45

OK, I've got this scenario set up all ready to play, but I still have some questions:

1.) In the special rules it says that tank units normally move two in this scenario, but it doesn't say anything about SPECIAL infantry units, so I take it they can move 2 on a road and fire or move 3 and not battle?....


Elite infantry on a road can move 3 and battle, if they start on road, stay on road and end on road.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


2.) Can the Commander in Chief give all three cards for a turn to one and the same field general? If so, could all three these cards be section cards?....

No, a field general can only recieve 2 cards per turn.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


3.) Do you have to make separate piles of command and section cards?....


No, they are all shuffled together.

player71615 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 15:45


4.) I assume the British infantry units in the South with all the tanks are NOT special infantry (paratroopers) and therefore fight like regular infantry? Might be hard to distinguish them from the paras should they ever link up....


THese units are normal infantry yes. And if you ever link them up, be sure to mark them in some way to tell them apart from the elite british units. I don't think it will happen often.

Have a good time. The scenario is very good.



Thanks! So can elite infantry move 4 on a road and NOT battle?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Some questions about operation market garden Sun, 14 June 2009 19:22
No.

The difference between elite inf. and ordinary inf. is that elite can battle after moving 2 hexes.

They don't get an extra hex of movement as is often the missunderstood interpretation, they only gain the ability to battle after their maximum allowed movement of 2 hexes.

So on a road their maximum allowed movement is 3 hexes and they have the ability to battle after that.

Normal infantry can not battle after moving their maximum allowed hexes of movement. Therefore they can move 1 and battle but not battle after moving 2 hexes. On a road this becomes move 2 and battle or 3 and not battle.

Hope that clears it up for you. A pleasure to help.
      
boersma8
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 182
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Some questions about operation market garden Sun, 14 June 2009 20:01
ad79 wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 19:22

No.

The difference between elite inf. and ordinary inf. is that elite can battle after moving 2 hexes.

They don't get an extra hex of movement as is often the missunderstood interpretation, they only gain the ability to battle after their maximum allowed movement of 2 hexes.

So on a road their maximum allowed movement is 3 hexes and they have the ability to battle after that.

Normal infantry can not battle after moving their maximum allowed hexes of movement. Therefore they can move 1 and battle but not battle after moving 2 hexes. On a road this becomes move 2 and battle or 3 and not battle.

Hope that clears it up for you. A pleasure to help.



It sure does! Thanks a bunch!
      
    
Previous Topic:Rules Question: Japanese Infantry in Landing Craft
Next Topic:Villers-Bocage
Goto Forum: