Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Pirate's Cove - English » Royal Navy questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
regulus1
Junior Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 6
Registered:
February 2009
Royal Navy questions Sun, 21 June 2009 11:00
Hi peoples, there is a few questions I cannot seem to answer regarding de royal navy:

a): is the royal navy an ship which does not exist physically on the board? I mean, it's not considered a legendary pirate (who is black) or any other colour. The rules state you must have it open next to the board, but is it some kind of virtual ship that only gets activated once someone plays a card?

b) if the royal navy is defeated, it must be removed from the board. But what if you have Royal navy cards in your hand? Bad luck then? That' doesn't make any sense to me....

c) if you play with, say, three players, you need two legendary pirate ships. Is one ALWAYS the royal navy or are you playing with TWO black ships PLUS the royal navy?

I hope someone can help me out Smile
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Royal Navy questions Sun, 21 June 2009 14:08
The Key thing with the Royal Navy intercept is that it is an Event Card played during the game and so works in similar ways to other way event cards. You play them and resolve any actions needed during the phase that they instruct you to play it in. Then they are discarded.

The Royal Navy ship Card is a representation of a ship in the Navy fleet and doesnt have a ship just a card to be used when the intercept fleet card is played. Its never discarded like the legendary pirate ships just reset back to board side ready for its next action.

regulus1 wrote on Sun, 21 June 2009 10:00

a): is the royal navy an ship which does not exist physically on the board? I mean, it's not considered a legendary pirate (who is black) or any other colour. The rules state you must have it open next to the board, but is it some kind of virtual ship that only gets activated once someone plays a card?


a)The Card represents the royal navy which unlike the named legendary pirates isnt a single ship but a number of ships from the navy fleet. It doesn't have a Black ship to represent it just the card you are correct that it only becomes active when someone plays the navy card.

regulus1 wrote on Sun, 21 June 2009 10:00

b) if the royal navy is defeated, it must be removed from the board. But what if you have Royal navy cards in your hand? Bad luck then? That' doesn't make any sense to me....


b) You can Never defeat the entire royal Navy. What you do is Defeat 1 ship from the fleet. So the card is returned to the side of board Ready for action again.

regulus1 wrote on Sun, 21 June 2009 10:00

c) if you play with, say, three players, you need two legendary pirate ships. Is one ALWAYS the royal navy or are you playing with TWO black ships PLUS the royal navy?


C) with 3 players the 2 Black ships are legendary pirates the navy is at the side of the board ready for action as needed.

hope these answers help

[Updated on: Sun, 21 June 2009 14:18]

      
regulus1
Junior Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 6
Registered:
February 2009
Re:Royal Navy questions Sun, 21 June 2009 23:49
OK, that did help out a LOT. Thank you ever so much Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:I need help understanding combat???
Next Topic:extra excitement
Goto Forum: