Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Two questions (for the FAQ?)
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
  Two questions (for the FAQ?) Sat, 28 November 2009 22:58
1) When playing scenarios using Pontoon Bridges, are you limited to the 2 tokens that come in the Terrain Pack, or can you use any other token to represent the bridges?

1a) For that matter, for those who played the Cadets of Saumur scenario, what did you use as Pontoon Bridges?

2) Their Finest Hour and Air Rules: How do you play an Air Sortie card when combined with TFH?
a) You play the AS card as you play the TFH card, as usual;
or
b) You play TFH, and if you roll a Star (allowing any unit), then you play the AS card.

2a)If the answer to Q2 is "a", what happens to the AS card if you don't roll a Star, since that now becomes an "illegal" (or at least "undoable") play? Do you take it back in your hand, or is discarded without effect?

Thanks!
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Two questions (for the FAQ?) Sun, 29 November 2009 00:07
2) You can play the AirSortie card only alone or together with a section card. Not together with a tactic card, like the TFH.
Therfore your questions should be answered in this point.

1) There is no limit, how many pontoon bridges you can built.
So you should use some other paper-bridges, if you want to built more, than tokens are present Wink
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2245
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Two questions (for the FAQ?) Sun, 29 November 2009 00:15
1. An interesting question, since the Dig Out card limits you to "an available sandbag," and Campaign Book reinforcements are limited to available pieces. But neither the Terrain Pack rule book (where they were introduced) nor the summary card places any such limit on the number of pontoon bridges. I would surmise that other bridge pieces can be pressed into service.

2. Air Sorties may be played together with section cards. They may not be combined with TFH, DHQ, or any other tactic card. (Well, okay, I guess you can combine it with a Counter-Attack that's being used as a section card.) The only way to order a plane on TFH is for it already to be in the air and for the player to roll a star.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Two questions (for the FAQ?) Sun, 29 November 2009 00:58
Stevens has a word document on his user page that explains how and which cards that can order airplanes.

This is the link to the user page: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/320854/m44/story
      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Two questions (for the FAQ?) Sun, 29 November 2009 22:06
Bayernkini wrote on Sat, 28 November 2009 18:07

2) You can play the AirSortie card only alone or together with a section card. Not together with a tactic card, like the TFH.
Therfore your questions should be answered in this point.


Hum, right, thanks. It seems like it's been a long time since I read the rules! Razz
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2067
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Two questions (for the FAQ?) Tue, 01 December 2009 00:13
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 28 November 2009 18:15

...Campaign Book reinforcements are limited to available pieces.


The interesting part about that limitation is that owners of a second copy of the game may use those pieces too.


      
    
Previous Topic:Overlord Expansion Versus Another Copy of the Game
Next Topic:Thank you, Days Of Wonder!
Goto Forum: