Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Moving and battling
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player1341694
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2013
Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 01:58
Do I have to move a unit before I attack with it?

In other words, when a section card reads "order so many units in one section", can I order a unit in that section to attack (given that it follows all terrain and line of sight rules) WITHOUT moving the unit first?

Thanks for any help!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 02:05
player1341694 wrote on Mon, 10 June 2013 19:58

Do I have to move a unit before I attack with it?

In other words, when a section card reads "order so many units in one section", can I order a unit in that section to attack (given that it follows all terrain and line of sight rules) WITHOUT moving the unit first?

Thanks for any help!


Welcome to the game madam.
You are in for years of fun...

Units may BATTLE without MOVING.
But no unit may BATTLE that has not been given an ORDER.

[Updated on: Tue, 11 June 2013 14:17]

      
player1341694
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2013
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 02:39
Thank you! That's what I thought.

Otherwise, being in forest or behind sandbags etc. wouldn't make sense if I had to first move away from a position before I could battle.

Thanks again!

Johanna
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1069
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 09:50
player1341694 wrote on Tue, 11 June 2013 01:39

Thank you! That's what I thought.

Otherwise, being in forest or behind sandbags etc. wouldn't make sense if I had to first move away from a position before I could battle.

Thanks again!

Johanna


Stevens - you need to change your "Sir" to "Madam" Wink
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 14:18
Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 11 June 2013 03:50

player1341694 wrote on Tue, 11 June 2013 01:39

Thank you! That's what I thought.

Otherwise, being in forest or behind sandbags etc. wouldn't make sense if I had to first move away from a position before I could battle.

Thanks again!

Johanna


Stevens - you need to change your "Sir" to "Madam" Wink


Consider it done!
Quote:


Welcome to the game madam.
You are in for years of fun...


Nice to have some ladies on board.

[Updated on: Tue, 11 June 2013 14:19]

      
player1341694
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2013
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 14:35
Smile

For a moment I thought I needed to change something on my profile.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 15:19
player1341694 wrote on Tue, 11 June 2013 16:35

Smile

For a moment I thought I needed to change something on my profile.




You can always change your User Name so that it's easier to remember who you are... Razz
      
trumpetman52
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 251
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 15:24
It is my understanding that all movement must occur before any battling takes place. The only time that a unit may move after battle is if so ordered by a card or taking ground or armor overrun. An infantry unit may not be ordered, battle and then move one hex. Is this correct???

trumpetman52
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 16:50
trumpetman52 wrote on Tue, 11 June 2013 17:24

It is my understanding that all movement must occur before any battling takes place. The only time that a unit may move after battle is if so ordered by a card or taking ground or armor overrun. An infantry unit may not be ordered, battle and then move one hex. Is this correct???

trumpetman52



Correct. Units must follow the "Order", "Move", "Battle" sequence unless they Take Ground or have a special card like Behind Enemy Lines.
      
trumpetman52
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 251
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Moving and battling Tue, 11 June 2013 20:05
Thanks Ras, that's what I thought
trumpetman52
      
    
Previous Topic:CB 1 download
Next Topic:Ladder tournament on Vassal
Goto Forum: