Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Archer Clarification
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Merry11
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2006
Archer Clarification Mon, 11 December 2006 22:02
I had a couple clarifications, well more confirmations about archers.
1. Can archers at point blank range take ground.
2. Can archers at point blank range battle back.
I have been playing yes to both, but just want to make sure.

Thanks
      
steve_hill
Member

User Pages
Posts: 44
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Mon, 11 December 2006 22:12
Archers at point blank count as in melee (p20), so yes, yes.

Steve.
      
Jude
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 196
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Mon, 11 December 2006 22:13
I have been playing yes to the first question.

For the second question, I believe that they can if they meet all the other conditions (are supported or otherwise made to be bold, do not retreat, etc.).
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Mon, 11 December 2006 23:16
I would say yes to both questions.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3190
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Archer Clarification Tue, 12 December 2006 01:38
Correct.
eric
      
PhilD
Member

Posts: 71
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Tue, 12 December 2006 20:09
From my reading of the (French) rules, it wasn't that clear that archers at point blank range were considered melee, so I'd have said that they couldn't take ground.

The description of battle back rules, though, only talks about the type of attack, so we played it that archers could battle back, but point blank archers could not be battled back. I guess this too was wrong...
      
SHwoKing
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Tue, 12 December 2006 20:31
PhilD, you forgot page 20 wich say that archer attacking at point blank are consider as melee.

This was very important to consider wether or not Archer can Battle back or Gain ground while in melee.
      
YogScottoth
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Thu, 28 December 2006 06:15
SHwoKing wrote on Tue, 12 December 2006 14:31

PhilD, you forgot page 20 wich say that archer attacking at point blank are consider as melee.

This was very important to consider wether or not Archer can Battle back or Gain ground while in melee.



This question came up in my group too, and actually that isn't exactly what Page 20 says. It says: "If the ATTACKER'S weapon is a missle weapon used at Point Blank (i.e. to attack a unit on an Adjacent hex) the attack is still considered a Melee."

Now, maybe I'm making too big a deal about this, but when the archer is being attacked, it is not the attacker. So does it still count as melee? I admit this is nit-picky, but it was the source of a long conversation at my table when we played!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Thu, 28 December 2006 13:07
YogScottoth wrote on Wed, 27 December 2006 23:15

SHwoKing wrote on Tue, 12 December 2006 14:31

PhilD, you forgot page 20 wich say that archer attacking at point blank are consider as melee.

This was very important to consider wether or not Archer can Battle back or Gain ground while in melee.



This question came up in my group too, and actually that isn't exactly what Page 20 says. It says: "If the ATTACKER'S weapon is a missle weapon used at Point Blank (i.e. to attack a unit on an Adjacent hex) the attack is still considered a Melee."

Now, maybe I'm making too big a deal about this, but when the archer is being attacked, it is not the attacker. So does it still count as melee? I admit this is nit-picky, but it was the source of a long conversation at my table when we played!

You're right. Technically, you look at the attacker to determine the type of attack. So if the person attacking is in melee, then the defender also has to be in melee. You cannot have two units engaged in two different types of battle.

So if the attacker melees, then the defender is engaged in a melee. And page 31 says the "units engaged in melee may battle back." Hope that clears up the nit pickiness!
      
YogScottoth
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Fri, 29 December 2006 08:08
Thanks!
      
guest230265
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Archer Clarification Sun, 31 December 2006 12:49
Smile They way i qualify it is that the bowmen probably have knifes or letter openers {sorry parchement openers} and revert to these for melee. My only gripe with archers is that they appear to be under strengh unless used en masse?.
      
Wee Sodjer
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Archer Clarification Sun, 31 December 2006 14:25
guest230265 wrote on Sun, 31 December 2006 11:49

Smile They way i qualify it is that the bowmen probably have knifes or letter openers {sorry parchement openers} and revert to these for melee. My only gripe with archers is that they appear to be under strengh unless used en masse?.


In the period covered, the normal use of archers was en masse.
      
    
Previous Topic:Questions regarding battle back???
Next Topic:New Creatures/Heroes "Club" Request
Goto Forum: