Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » General stevens Rules Quiz No.8
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 18:38
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:19

your opponent leaves a section that has an empty section medal (sugar loaf and half moon)


Yes, another situation:
SUGAR LOAF AND HALFMOON
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1518
Quote:

When all the Japanese units in a section of the battlefield (right, center or left) are eliminated, the Marines gain one Victory Medal. As long as no Japanese units move back into the section it continues to count toward the Marine victory.


However, you are correct. The units do not need to be eliminated, if the Japanese of their own volition abandon a flank the medal is still granted. So either through elimination or evacuation a medal is scored on your opponents ' turn.
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

User Pages
Posts: 458
Registered:
December 2010
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 18:55
Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.

I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.

[Updated on: Wed, 06 March 2013 18:55]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2177
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55

Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.

I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.



There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

User Pages
Posts: 458
Registered:
December 2010
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 19:11
sam1812 écrit le Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58

tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55

Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.

I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.



There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.


I didn't know that, thks
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 19:35
tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 13:11

sam1812 écrit le Wed, 06 March 2013 18:58

tinsoldier wrote on Wed, 06 March 2013 12:55

Your opponent attacks a unit, and roll one flag (or more) that enables your unit to exit the board for the gain of a medal.

I don't know if official scenarios exist with such possible situation, since generally you retreat away from the exit hexs that are most of the time on the other side of the board.



There has been an official ruling on this subject. You cannot retreat through an exit hex. The flag would result in the loss of a figure.


I didn't know that, thks



P.3 FAQ Supplement
Quote:

Q. If Exit rules are in effect, and my opponent forces me to retreat while my unit is on an Exit hex, may I retreat off the board and get a medal?
A. No, the intent has always been that units must be ordered and then move off the battlefield via an Exit hex. You may not retreat off the board and gain an Exit medal.

[Updated on: Wed, 06 March 2013 19:36]

      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

User Pages
Posts: 458
Registered:
December 2010
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Wed, 06 March 2013 22:12
Another try:

You play using either urban or winter combat cards.
When attacked by the enemy, you play "Out of ammo".
The card says the attacking unit has to retreat on a vacant base line hex.

If there is no vacant hex, is the unit lost ? If yes, one medal for you, General.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2177
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Thu, 07 March 2013 02:23
Sorry, no. This was among a group of questions Richard answered for Rasmussen81 on the "Questions for the Official FAQ" thread, August 14, 2012.

Q. What happens if I play Out of Ammo and there are no baseline hexes for my opponent to move his unit back to?
A. The unit is placed in an empty hex in the next forward row of hexes.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Thu, 07 March 2013 23:32
Tomorrow I will reveal the final two answers that I am aware of. One is quite obscure and only those who play using the Campaign Books might be aware of it.
That should be enough of a hint.

So go out guessing guys and gals.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2177
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 02:29
A Victory Event roll of a tank, in a scenario where the opponent's armored units are all Tigers, would eliminate the unit. However, (A) I don't believe that would count as a medal, and (B) since the battle hasn't actually begun yet, I'm not sure that it would count as being your "turn."
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 03:51
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 07 March 2013 20:29

A Victory Event roll of a tank, in a scenario where the opponent's armored units are all Tigers, would eliminate the unit. However, (A) I don't believe that would count as a medal, and (B) since the battle hasn't actually begun yet, I'm not sure that it would count as being your "turn."


Yes, this could be a possibility if you really stretch the logic.

The Simplified Campaign Rules that came with the Winter/Desert Board state:

Quote:

If all of the figures in an opponent's unit are removed before the battle begins, you gain a Victory Medal.


However, the game has not actually begun yet and so it would be a stretch to say that you scored a medal on an opponents turn. So an interesting twist, but the real answers are really quite simple and straightforward.

[Updated on: Fri, 08 March 2013 03:59]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1049
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 09:35
there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 12:33
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 03:35

there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.


I will accept that as an answer if you give me the exact scenario and quote the special rules from the Official Scenario pages. This is what I did in the SUGAR LOAF and HALF MOON scenario. You may use that as an example.

[Updated on: Fri, 08 March 2013 12:36]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 12:38
To the best of my knowledge, these are the final results:

Describe a situation where you can actually score a medal on your opponents turn instead of your turn.

1. A Kamikaze Attack where your opponent rolls a GRENADE.

2. You play an Ambush Card on your opponent when they attack in Close Assault and their unit is eliminated.

3. You Battle Back as British with the "Stiff Upper Lip" in Close Assault where you survived by one figure and destroy your opponents' one figure attacking unit.

4. Your opponent rolls a FLAG and you Retreat onto an hex with a Medal Objective for your side.

5. Your opponent Blows up a Bridge which has one of his units on it.

6. Your opponent either moves onto or is forced to retreat onto (Ambush or "Stiff Upper Lip") a Frozen River Hex and STAR rolls eliminate his unit.

7. Your Opponent moves onto a Mine and the dice rolls eliminate his unit.

8. Your opponent willingly moves off of or is destroyed or forced to retreat out of (Ambush or "Stiff Upper Lip") a hex with a Temporary Majority Medal Objective the outcome of which gives you majority and hence medal(s).

9. Your opponent makes an Air check and rolls a GRENADE and you have a unit adjacent to his Airplane at the time of the check.

10. Your opponent claims a Close Assault and you play the PULL BACK card from the Combat Cards and retreat onto a hex with a Temporary or Permanent Medal Objective.

11. In a game with a medal given for an opponent losing or abandoning ALL units in a sector (i.e. SUGAR LOAF and HALF MOON) the opponent leaves a sector empty on his turn or your reaction to a Close Assault attack (Ambush, "Stiff Upper Lip") forces a sector to be empty.

12. In a game using Combat Cards, you play an Ambuscade Card on your opponent when they attack in Close Assault and their unit is eliminated.
This is a distinct card from the AMBUSH Command Card and so I am counting it separately.

13. In Campaign Book #2 you are playing a scenario using the Carpet Bombing Rules:
Quote:

Special Action: After moving the plane roll 2d on all adjacent ground units, enemy and friendly, ignoring terrain protection of all hexes. Unit symbols and Grenades rolled apply as normal. Stars rolled also cause hits, and Flags rolled cannot be ignored.

Your opponent may accidentally eliminate some of his own units in the attack since the bombs don't discriminate between friend or foe and hence you could score a medal in a "friendly fire" incident.


I expect that in time there may be more situations specific to certain scenarios and it would be good to post them on this site for future reference. Thanks for playing folks.

[Updated on: Fri, 08 March 2013 12:41]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 527
Registered:
March 2005
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 15:40
I cant off anything else Very Happy
thanks for this question! It makes me think more about options I have during a game of memoir.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1049
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 17:31
stevens wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 12:33

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 03:35

there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.


I will accept that as an answer if you give me the exact scenario and quote the special rules from the Official Scenario pages. This is what I did in the SUGAR LOAF and HALF MOON scenario. You may use that as an example.

It's "Nach Moskou" and it is a classified scenario so I cannot copy paste the rule. I'm too lazy to look up the booklet and type it over.

(edit) Aparently you can see the text of classified scenarios
From the rules of the scenario:
"?General Winter? rules are in effect. At the start of each of his turn, the Axis player rolls 2 dice. For any Grenade roll, he must remove 1 figure from a German unit of his choice. Any unit wiped out that way still counts as a medal for the Allied player."

[Updated on: Fri, 08 March 2013 17:35]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 17:33
Antoi wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 09:40

I cant off anything else Very Happy
thanks for this question! It makes me think more about options I have during a game of memoir.


Yes, knowing what might happen or could happen makes you a more informed player and may actually improve your gameplay. Thanks for patronage.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 17:39
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 11:31

stevens wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 12:33

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 08 March 2013 03:35

there is a breakthrough map that says that the germans need to roll 2 dice at the start of each of their turns, and that a grenade forces them to remove one figure of a unit.
If you're the russians, you could score a medal at the start of the german turn if a grenade removes the last figure of a unit.


I will accept that as an answer if you give me the exact scenario and quote the special rules from the Official Scenario pages. This is what I did in the SUGAR LOAF and HALF MOON scenario. You may use that as an example.

It's "Nach Moskou" and it is a classified scenario so I cannot copy paste the rule. I'm too lazy to look up the booklet and type it over.

(edit) Aparently you can see the text of classified scenarios
From the rules of the scenario:
"?General Winter? rules are in effect. At the start of each of his turn, the Axis player rolls 2 dice. For any Grenade roll, he must remove 1 figure from a German unit of his choice. Any unit wiped out that way still counts as a medal for the Allied player."


NACH MOSKOU

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4717

Special Rule
Quote:

?General Winter? rules are in effect. At the start of each of his turn, the Axis player rolls 2 dice. For any Grenade roll, he must remove 1 figure from a German unit of his choice. Any unit wiped out that way still counts as a medal for the Allied player.


Yes, good find. Thanks Quit2
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 19:58
In Overlord play it is possible to score a medal on the opponents turn if one of the FG's roll a bad initiative die and has to remove the last figure of a unit or retreat a stuck unit.

Not the most likely of medals, but possible.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Fri, 08 March 2013 20:15
In "Namur" and "Roi-Namur overlord" from CB#2 you can get a medal as the Japanese on the Marine turn if the Marine unit rolls enough Grenades while trying to blow up the bunker.

From the Special rules:

Any allied infantry unit occupying the bunker may attempt to destroy it instead of battling. This is accomplished by ordering a Marine infantry unit that already occupies the Bunker to roll its Close Assault combat dice. If a Star is rolled, the Bunker blows up. Remove the Bunker hex and gain the Victory Medal. In addition, for each grenade rolled when the bunker blows up, one Marine figure is lost and must be removed from the ordered unit
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.8 Sat, 09 March 2013 02:37
Both good answers Stig. yes I remember getting stomped pretty good at ROI NAMUR and you did get the medal for destroying the ammunition bunker, but had it been too large of an explosion, you are correct in saying that the Japanese player could earn a medal.

Same issue is true of the the Overlord initiative roll. As you said not highly probable, but as long as it is possible it is a good answer.

Thanks for your responses.
      
Pages (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Previous Topic:Manado Landings or how to have a blast!
Next Topic:High Stakes at Bruyeres & Urban combat cards
Goto Forum: