Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Memoir '44 Cards Compendium > Terrain Cards > Wire > 

Comments - 

Wire

Wire

< Towns & Villages Airfields >

Comments

  1. gheintze says

    Armor Overrun or Taking Ground after moving into wire (Comment / Question)

    If armor is in wire (and cuts), wins battle, can it overrun, or does wire rule of no more movement apply?

    No. When it says you can move no further that turn, you are not able to move even during armor overrun or taking ground.

  2. gheintze says

    Armor Taking Ground into Wire (Comment / Question)

    Q. May an Armor unit after a successful close assault on an enemy in Wire, Armor Overrun by taking ground and attacking again?
    A. Yes. An Armor unit that makes a successful close assault on an enemy unit on a Wire hex may Armor Overrun and battle. The Wire is removed. If the Overrun is successful, the armor may not Take Ground because Wire states that units may not move further that turn, which includes Taking Ground.

  3. gheintze says

    Infantry Taking Ground after moving into Wire (Comment / Question)

    Q. If an Infantry unit moves onto Wire (which stops movement) and makes a successful close assault, can the Infantry unit Take Ground?
    A. No. An infantry unit that enters a hex with Wire must stop and may move no further on that turn. It may not Take Ground after a successful close assault when it enters Wire. Note: Armor cannot Take Ground or Armor Overrun, either.

  4. gheintze says

    Wire Questions from the FAQ (Comment / Question)

    Q. Can an Infantry unit battle on the same turn in which it enters wire?
    A. The Infantry unit must make a choice between fighting at -1 die, OR removing the wire and not battling this turn. When an Infantry unit moves onto the wire hex after moving 2 hexes and is not able to battle this turn, it may not remove the wire.

    Q. Terrain has no effect on retreat moves, is this true for the wire too?
    A. Yes. A units retreat is not stopped when retreating through a hex with wire. Note: Wire is a subset of Terrain along with other obstacles like bunkers, hedgehogs, and sandbags.

    Q. May an Armor unit that retreats onto a hex with wire, remove the wire?
    A. No. Look at the act of removing wire by an Infantry or Armor unit as an offensive action. Therefore an Armor unit retreating onto or through a hex with wire will not remove the wire. Note: If an Armor unit attacks out of wire it had to retreat into, the wire is removed after the attack. If an Armor unit simply moves out of wire it had to retreat into, the wire is not removed.

    Q. If an Armor unit moves onto a hex with wire, does it have to remove the wire?
    A. Yes.

  5. 5 star general says

    Wire and friendly forces (Comment / Question)

    Does wire have the same effect on friendly forces as it does on enemy forces? In other words does the army that put the wire down have to stop?

  6. Quit2 says

    Wire and friendly forces (Comment / Question)

    Wire affects both sides.

Leave a comment

You need to be connected to post a comment. Please use the loginbox on top-right hand corner of the screen.


< Towns & Villages Airfields >