Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Crosshairs
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2777
Registered:
October 2004
Crosshairs Sun, 21 July 2019 13:51
I never thought of this one before.

A unit has a cross hair on it. Removal of that is desired but the unit is in a bunker or other good position it does not wish to give up.

The unit moves out of the bunker to remove the cross hair but moves right back in to retain the position. I did not see anything in the rules to prevent such a tactic.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3606
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Crosshairs Sun, 21 July 2019 13:56
You are a genius. And as long as the first move is not into terrain that limits or ends movement, it seems a fair play to me. Cool Laughing Shocked

Let’s call it the PEEK-A-BOO tactic. Razz

[Updated on: Sun, 21 July 2019 14:00]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2777
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Crosshairs Sun, 21 July 2019 14:01
Clexton27 wrote on Sun, 21 July 2019 07:56

You are a genius. And as long as the first move is not into terrain that limits or ends movement, it seems a fair play to me. Cool Laughing Shocked

Let’s call it the PEEK-A-BOO tactic. Razz


Ah, not such a genius. I encountered such a move in a recent game.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 2442
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Crosshairs Sun, 21 July 2019 16:31
A tactic I certainly employed in the past. Especially on DDaylandings with on the move orders.

Gets rid of those pesky crosshairs. Smile
      
Gavin
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 1
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Crosshairs Fri, 31 July 2020 02:52
In this case I would say that the markers are placed on the bunker as that is the target. The unit inside the bunker can hardly be seen but the bunker is a large object and once the gunners home in on it then it shouldn't matter what the unit does and the crosshair marker should remain.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3606
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Crosshair Fri, 31 July 2020 03:56
Gavin wrote on Thu, 30 July 2020 20:52

In this case I would say that the markers are placed on the bunker as that is the target. The unit inside the bunker can hardly be seen but the bunker is a large object and once the gunners home in on it then it shouldn't matter what the unit does and the crosshair marker should remain.



Sometimes the rules for Memoir’44 are abstract and not always pleasing to those who want military logic to be at the forefront.
So friend, you may certainly play this way in your gaming group if you choose, especially if you believe it adds authenticity. However, you would be creating a new HOUSE RULE.

The actual Cross-Hair Marker rule reads as follows:

Pacific Theater p.11
Quote:

The Cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves from the hex or is eliminated. When the unit moves from the hex, the cross-hair marker is placed back on the hex with the Big Guns.


So when the unit moves, the marker returns home.

So the PEEK-A-BOO tactic is a VALID thing! Shocked
Glad to see the clever fellows pull this one out of their hat.

[Updated on: Fri, 31 July 2020 04:13]

      
magick
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 105
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Crosshair Fri, 31 July 2020 10:29
I was of the same mind as Gavin, so thanks for claryfying that matter
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3606
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Crosshair Fri, 31 July 2020 14:03
I had one further thought on this topic. If the infantry unit moving out and then back in to the Cross-haired bunker was ordered by an INFANTRY ASSAULT command card, then they would actually be eligible to battle on this turn as well as dodge the crosshairs. Rolling Eyes Twisted Evil

[Updated on: Fri, 31 July 2020 14:04]

      
fedemotta3
Junior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 10
Registered:
May 2015
Re:Crosshairs Sun, 02 August 2020 00:04
Ha! that's very clever!

      
Kelly's Hero
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 324
Registered:
April 2011
Re:Crosshair Wed, 19 August 2020 00:47
[quote title=Clexton27 wrote on Thu, 30 July 2020 19:56]

Quote:

The Cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves from the hex or is eliminated. When the unit moves from the hex, the cross-hair marker is placed back on the hex with the Big Guns.


My take on this is that the unit didn't actually move FROM the hex, but if you guys say this is fair play... ok. I think the crosshair should remain.
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 258
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Crosshair Wed, 19 August 2020 16:48
[quote title=Kelly's Hero wrote on Tue, 18 August 2020 23:47]
Clexton27 wrote on Thu, 30 July 2020 19:56



Quote:

The Cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves from the hex or is eliminated. When the unit moves from the hex, the cross-hair marker is placed back on the hex with the Big Guns.


My take on this is that the unit didn't actually move FROM the hex, but if you guys say this is fair play... ok. I think the crosshair should remain.


I can see this being interpreted both ways, but I'd go with this.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1132
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Crosshair Thu, 20 August 2020 07:06
[quote title=Kelly's Hero wrote on Wed, 19 August 2020 00:47]
Clexton27 wrote on Thu, 30 July 2020 19:56



Quote:

The Cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves from the hex or is eliminated. When the unit moves from the hex, the cross-hair marker is placed back on the hex with the Big Guns.


My take on this is that the unit didn't actually move FROM the hex, but if you guys say this is fair play... ok. I think the crosshair should remain.


and if the unit in the bunker moves out one step to close assault an enemy, get an ambush with a flag and retreats back into the bunker? Rolling Eyes Very Happy

Or uses a Behind enemy lines and ends its movement back in the bunker Rolling Eyes Very Happy

[Updated on: Thu, 20 August 2020 07:07]

      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 258
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Crosshair Thu, 20 August 2020 13:33
[quote title=Antoi wrote on Thu, 20 August 2020 06:06]
Kelly's Hero wrote on Wed, 19 August 2020 00:47

Clexton27 wrote on Thu, 30 July 2020 19:56



Quote:

The Cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves from the hex or is eliminated. When the unit moves from the hex, the cross-hair marker is placed back on the hex with the Big Guns.


My take on this is that the unit didn't actually move FROM the hex, but if you guys say this is fair play... ok. I think the crosshair should remain.


and if the unit in the bunker moves out one step to close assault an enemy, get an ambush with a flag and retreats back into the bunker? Rolling Eyes Very Happy n

Or uses a Behind enemy lines and ends its movement back in the bunker Rolling Eyes Very Happy


Different situations here. In both your cases the unit has moved somewhere else first, and then ceased movement. They have then performed another action from their new location, and then as a separate, later, retreat/move, gone back. Razz
      
Cpl_Uhl
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 191
Registered:
December 2011
Re:Crosshairs Fri, 21 August 2020 00:04
I read the rule as it is and follow Clexton.
The special forces did move out of the hex...that is what the rule say, so the crosshair is removed. Then it move back in and can fire Cool

Else the rule was written as "until the unit end its move on another hex". But as mentioned by a lot of others, you can house rule. When the abstract rules don't feel good, find a wargame that goes more in detail.

Perhaps this gives also a 2nd thought. Your tank received a flag and is in wire. On your turn you activate it, move one hex out and back (destroying the wire) and then fire. Does it make sense in a real battle...no. Does it make sense in Memoir... Very Happy

[Updated on: Fri, 21 August 2020 00:09]

      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 258
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Crosshairs Fri, 21 August 2020 12:26
Cpl_Uhl wrote on Thu, 20 August 2020 23:04

I read the rule as it is


So do I. The issue is not what it says, but how to interpret it. I don't need to go and play a more complicated game just because of a minor rules query. Heck, even Squad leader has that weired move back one hex to avoid defensive fire and then move back in The advance phase.

[Updated on: Fri, 21 August 2020 12:35]

      
    
Previous Topic:NFP and Blitz rules
Next Topic:Extra Command Decks
Goto Forum: