Ticket to Ride Japan Ticket to Ride Japan

Relief of 'Peiper' - December 21, 1944 - December 22, 1944

Unternehmen Wacht am Rhein - Ardennes
Western Front By: RBorg - Last update: 01/08/2011
Axis Player: Allied Player:
x4 x6 x5 x6
first You play first    

Historical Background:
Ordered to move to the relief of Kampfgruppe 'Peiper', Max Hansen on December 21st started probing with his battlegroup between Trois Ponts and Grand Halleux. The 505th Parachute Regiment had established a defensive front to defend or blow the bridges along this four-mile section behind the River Salm.

Hansen attack at Trois Ponts overran the allied companies positioned on the East Side of the river. A withdrawal of survivors was ordered and although the German grenadiers made it to the bridge they were thrown back by fire from the antitank gun and the buildings.

To the south, a strong defense at La Neuville, slowed the advance of German tanks and infantry. Just as the German forces overcame the defenders in La Neuville the battalion blew the bridge. The advanced had stalled and Allied Artillery forced the German troops to withdraw.

On the 22nd, Panzergrenadiers fought a desperate battle for control of the Grand Halleux bridges. The paras blew one bridge while Germans were in the middle of it and the rest of the German force in the area fell back. There was no further attacks on the 505th sector.

The stage is set, the battle lines are drawn, and you are in command. The rest is history.

Axis Player: Take 4 command cards.
You move first.

Allied Player: Take 5 command cards.

Conditions of Victory:
6 Medals

An Axis unit that exits off the Allied side of the battlefield counts as one victory medal. The Axis unit is removed from play. Place one figure from this unit onto the Axis medal track.

Special Rules:
All Allied and Axis infantry units are Special Forces elite units. They may move 1 or 2 hexes and still battle.

The bridges do not block line of sight.

The Allied player may blow three bridges. The Allied player may blow one bridge a turn when he plays a section command card with an intact bridge. It takes one order from the card to blow the bridge in the section. Remove the bridge. The allied player does not draw a new command card the turn he blows a bridge (his hand of command card is reduced by one card).

Scenario Bibliography:
"The Ardennes Offensive: V US Corps & XVIII (Airborne) Corps, Northern Sector, Osprey

Set-up Order